Medal of Merit and Medal of Valor nominations

At Peace With Honor
April 6, 2012
WSLEA Past President Al Molineux
April 14, 2012

WSLEA has been requested by Sam Reed, Secretary of State for the State of Washington to assist in garnering nominations for the Washington State Medal of Merit and Medal of Valor.  The Medals of Merit and Valor are the highest honors presented by the State of Washington.

The Medal of Merit is given for providing a lifetime of outstanding service to the citizens of Washington.  It may be awarded posthumously if necessary, and may be given to any Washington State citizen for service between 1889 and the present.  Past recipients of the Medal of Merit have included such notables as U.S. Senators Henry Jackson and Warren Magnuson, former Speaker of the House Tom Foley, Nobel Laureate Dr. E Donnall Thomas, suffragettes Emma Smith DeVoe and May Arkwright Hutton, former Governor Dan Evans, and world-renowned artists Jacob Lawrence and Dale Chiluly.

The Medal of Valor is given to citizens who, at risk of personal injury or death, have saved or attempted to save the life of another.  The Medal of Valor cannot be awarded to any individual who is acting as a result of service provided by any branch of law enforcement, fire fighting, rescue, or other hazardous profession, whether on or off duty.  In 2006, the Medal of Valor was awarded for the first time to Jim Swett, Greg Meinhold, Travis Jackson, and Dennis Kinsey.  All were recognized for their life-saving acts of heroism.

The Medal of Merit and Medal of Valor committees consist of the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Speaker of the House, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, and the Secretary of State.  The closing date to receive nominations is August 12, 2012.  The medals are scheduled to be given out in a ceremony during a joint session of the 2013 legislature.

Links to applications for both medals are attached.  Medal of Merit.  Medal of Valor. There is also more information concerning the program on the Secretary of State Website.  Medals program.  If you have additional questions, contact Patrick McDonald at or (360) 902-4148.